Utah Latter-day Saint temples to move to next phase of opening

SALT LAKE CITY – All Utah-operated temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints will move into the next phase of reopening starting next month, the church said on Tuesday.

A total of 60 temples around the world will move into Phase 3 of the Reopening Policies from June and July. The change means temples are open to all ordinances, but with some restrictions.

“As of May 2020, the temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints will be cautiously and cautiously reopening in four phases based on local conditions and government restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic,” the church said on its website.

“Temples in the first four stages have limited operations. There are important precautions for temple workers and patrons, including wearing masks at all times, having a limited number of patrons in the temple at any one time, minimal temple staff, and disinfection after each temple ceremony, careful social distancing and Seating arrangement and temperature controls at the entrance. “

The list of temples moving into Phase 3 includes all 15 Utah temples that are currently operational:

  • Lush Utah Temple
  • Brigham City Utah Temple
  • Cedar City Utah Temple
  • Draper Utah Temple
  • Jordan River Utah Temple
  • Logan Utah Temple
  • Manti Utah Temple
  • Monticello Utah Temple
  • Mount Timpanogos Utah Temple
  • Ogden Utah Temple
  • Oquirrh Mountain Utah Temple
  • Payson Utah Temple
  • Provo city center temple
  • Provo Utah Temple
  • Vernal Utah Temple

Church officials said Tuesday that Church members in the temple districts will be notified by email when they can begin making online reservations for their temple. The Salt Lake Temple and St. George Utah Temple were added to the list but will remain closed for renovations.

The Tuesday announcement also comes one day after the Church announced that the Provo Missionary Training Center will be receiving face-to-face training for the first time in 14 months next month.

The full list of temples moving into Phase 3 can be found here.


More stories that might interest you

Comments are closed.