Government leaders sworn in for the new year

SALT LAKE CITY — A new year brings swearing in ceremonies and leadership in local, regional and state government.

SLC Council appointments

The Salt Lake City Council elected councilmembers Darin Mano and Victoria Petro to serve as the Council Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, for 2023.

Chair Mano represents District 5, home to 9th & 9th, Liberty Park and Smith’s Ballpark and has served since 2020.

“Last year, we made big changes to help improve housing affordability. I am excited to continue working on making Salt Lake City a place where anyone can thrive, regardless of circumstance, background, or income,” Mano said in a press release.

Vice Chair Petro, who joined the Council in 2021, represents District 1, which includes Rose Park, part of Fairpark and Salt Lake International Airport.

According to a press release, Petro sees sustainable and strategic development, with young and diverse communities in mind as one of the city’s “most notable areas of opportunity.”

“A decade of living on the Westside has given me a front-row view of how important it is to have active and equitable representation for communities brimming with opportunity,” said Vice Chair Petro in the release.

Elected sheriffs

In Morgan County, newly-elected Corey Stark was sworn in as sheriff at the Morgan County Courthouse. Stark is a former deputy for the Weber County Sheriff’s Office.

Sheriff Kelly V. Sparks took the oath of office in Davis County. Sparks, a former sheriff’s office SWAT commander and chief deputy, was elected Sheriff in 2018.

Sheriff Steve Labrum was sworn in early this week for his second term as Uintah County Sheriff.

Grand County’s newly-elected Sheriff Jamison Wiggins was also sworn this week.


We want to hear from you.

Have a story idea or tip? Send it to the KSL NewsRadio team here.

Comments are closed.